Art

Darryl Chappell Foundation Artist Talk: John Simmons, ASC, Earlie Hudnall, Jr., and April Frazier

Emmy-award winning cinematographer and photographer, John Simmons, ASC, and prolific photographer Earlie Hudnall, Jr., sit down with moderator and photographer April Frazier to share with a global audience their successes, challenges, how they overcame obstacles and to share parts of their life work.

The Artists Talk Series is a program of the Darryl Chappell Foundation focused on providing a platform for artists to share their work with a global audience of artists, patrons and an interested public – at no charge. The Artists Talk provides a virtual platform for emerging and established artists to not only share their work experiences, but obstacles along their path and how they were able to confront and overcome challenges. Artists also depict their most recent work, highlighting the trajectory of their path and art practices.

Last, there is a moderated question & answer segment where the audience asks questions either through live zoom audio questions or via chat feature on Zoom or on YouTube. Artists Talk Series are live streamed via YouTube and Zoom and a recording is posted to the Foundation’s YouTube channel within one week of airing live.

Artist bios:

John Simmons

I always strive to make images that tell a story. Every time I take a picture, I bring my entire life experience to that moment. Every click of the shutter is the totality of the music i’ve heard, the love and pain I’ve see and lived, and has shaped the way I see.

Born and raised in Chicago, photographer and Emmy Award-winning cinematographer John Simmons has been documenting the world around him since the 1960s, celebrating the intimate details of Black culture through his work. His black and white images are a stark connection between time, place, and diverse experiences across the Black diaspora.

Simmons is also a professor of cinematography at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Earlie Hudnall, Jr.

I chose the camera as a tool to document different aspects of life: who we are, what we do, how we live, and what our communities look like. These various patterns are interwoven like a quilt into important patterns of history. A unique commonality exists between young and old because there is always a continuity between the past and the future. It is this commonality which I strive to depict in my work.

Earlie Hudnall was born and raised in Hattiesburg, Mississippi. His sense of community within his family and that of the African-American culture is what helped shape his work as an artist. Hudnall began photographing while serving as a Marine in the Vietnam War in the 1960’s. In 1968, he relocated to Houston to attend Texas Southern University and received his BA in Art Education. Hudnall is a board member for the Houston Center for Photography and an Executive Board member in the Texas Photographic Society.

His photographs are in many notable public and private collections across America, including the Smithsonian, Art Institute of Chicago and the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston.

April M. Frazier

April M. Frazier is a documentary and lifestyle photographer from Houston, TX. She is a graduate of Prairie View A&M University receiving a BBA in Management Information Systems and Rice University, with a Master of Business Administration.

Her personal photography projects include architectural and documentary images from her European and Caribbean travel with extensive focus on Jamaica. Her most prized and ongoing work involves research and documentation of her ancestral roots in Texas through the creation of imagery on lands with an identified familial connection from the time of enslavement to present day. Her photographic work has been exhibited in galleries in New York, Oregon, and Texas, along with a group exhibition in London.

April and her husband Chadwyck enjoy the honor of raising their 4yr old daughter Lily.

To register FREE on Saturday February 20 CLICK HERE
Schedule:
11am-12:30pm West Coast United States.
1pm-2:30pm Central United States
2pm-3:30pm Eastern United States
2pm – 3:30pm Colombia, South America
3pm-4:30pm Puerto Rico
4pm-5:30pm Uruguay
7pm-8:30pm London
4am-5:30am Tokyo (February 21, 2021 – Sunday).

.

 Visit their  YouTube Channel to view previous Artists Talk episodes.

%d bloggers like this: