Now Reading
Red Carpet: 61st BFI London Film Festival 2017 Award Winners

Red Carpet: 61st BFI London Film Festival 2017 Award Winners

London Film Festival in partnership with American Express® announced the 2017 Festival Award-winners at a high profile Awards dinner, held at Banqueting House, Whitehall on Saturday 14th October. Hosted by James Nesbitt and with an address from BFI Chair Josh Berger, guests, judges and nominees included Andrea Arnold, Hayley Atwell, Afolabi Kuti, Eric Bana, Jessie Buckley, Lily Cole, Jason Isaacs, Adrian Lester, Andrea Arnold, Helen McCrory, Ashley Clark, Andrea Riseborough, Anya Taylor Joy and this year’s BFI Fellowship recipient, Paul Greengrass. (Main image Paul Greengrass & Jason Isaacs copyright AAfrica)

The Winners/Categories

DSC_0235 The BFI Fellowship Winner – Paul Greengrass, the British film director, producer, screenwriter and former broadcast journalist  (The Bourne SupremacyThe Bourne UltimatumCaptain Phillips, Bloody Sunday)  was presented with BFI’s highest accolade, which is awarded by the BFI Board of Governors and is presented for outstanding achievement in film and television. (pictured Paul Greengrass)


First Feature Competition Winner Director John Trengove: for THE WOUND -The Sutherland Award (South Africa). The long-standing Sutherland Award is named after the first Chairman of the British Film Institute, George Sutherland-Leveson-Gower, 5th Duke of Sutherland.  The Sutherland Award is presented to the director of the most original and imaginative first feature in the Festival. I Am Not Witch, directed by Rungano Nyoni was one of the titles in consideration in this category.


BF1 Winner 2010Official Competition Winner – Best Film: LOVELESS, directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev (Russia, France, Germany, Belgium). Recognising inspiring, inventive and distinctive filmmaking.


DSC_0184Documentary Competition Winner – The Grierson Award: KINGDOM OF US , directed by Lucy Cohen (United Kingdom).  The Grierson Award for the Best Documentary recognises outstanding feature-length documentaries of integrity, originality, technical             excellence or cultural significance.

DSC_0154Short Film Competition Winner – Best Short Film Award: THE RABBIT HUNT directed by Patrick Bresnan (USA). The Short Film Award is now in its third year at the Festival, and recognises short form works with a unique cinematic voice and a confident handling of chosen theme and content.

See Also


…..……..and The Red Carpet Photos Top to bottom Producer Afolabi Kuti with guest, Actor/Director Adrian Lester with wife, Actress Hayley Atwell, Actress Gloria Huwiler (I Am Not a Witch), Director,Kibwe Tavares (nominated for best short)  and Actress Anna Taylor-Joy..


Image credit: AAfrica Copyright 2017.