Now Reading
Berlin: Naomi Osaka | 20TH ANNIVERSARY LAUREUS WORLD SPORTS Awards Nominee for Woman of the Year

Berlin: Naomi Osaka | 20TH ANNIVERSARY LAUREUS WORLD SPORTS Awards Nominee for Woman of the Year


It was at the inaugural Laureus World Sports Awards in 2000 that Laureus Patron, Nelson Mandela, spoke the words which sparked the creation of the worldwide Sport for Good movement. 20 years on and Mandela’s words remain central to Laureus’ mission – ‘Sport has the power to change the world; to unite people in a way little else does’. From sports stars to sports fans and the young people in Laureus Sport for Good programmes around the world: Sport Unites Us.

Among the nominees Sportswoman of the Year is Naomi Osaka she won the Australian Open to add to her 2018 US Open, beating Petra Kvitova in the final. She became the first woman to win consecutive Grand Slam singles titles since Serena Williams in 2015. Finishing  the year strongly with victories in the Pan Pacific Open and the China Open. Other nominees in the category include: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Allyson Felix and Simone Bile (GYMNASTICS) USA. Tiger Wood and Brit Lewis Hamilton are nominated for Sportsman of the Year.

Since 2000, Laureus Sport for Good has reached and helped change the lives of almost 6 million children and young people. Today, Laureus currently supports more than 200 programmes in over 40 countries that use the power of sport to transform lives. This years 20th anniversary event will be hosted by Hugh Grant in Berlin on the 17th of February 2020, at The Verti Music Hall Mühlenstraße 76, 10243 Berlin, Germany.

See Also

As a large, international company, #Mercedes-Benz also serves as a beacon of corporate social responsibility. For the brand with the distinctive three-pronged star, sport has the power and potential to improve the lives of socially disadvantaged young people around the world. Sport mobilizes masses and is able to compensate for differences in religion, skin color, gender and origin. That is why #Daimler co-founded “Laureus Sport for Good” in 2000.