Now Reading
Closed borders to UK by almost 40 Nations as new Covid-19 variant spreads: full list here

Closed borders to UK by almost 40 Nations as new Covid-19 variant spreads: full list here

More than forty nations around the world have closed their borders to travellers from the UK after the detection of a new strain of Covid-19, including Morocco and Jamaica. The toughest restrictions come from France.

The new variant is believed to be up to 70 per cent more infections than the existing strains, leading governments across the world imposing of travel bans.

Germany, France, Belgium, Turkey and Italy were among the first of those to suspend flights from the UK, while Hong Kong followed yesterday.

Here is a list of countries that have imposed restrictions so far.

Belgium: Blocked the tunnel and airports from all passenger travel – even transit – for 24 hours from 12am Sunday.
Germany: Cancelled passenger flights from UK until 31 December.
Ireland: Flights banned from the UK for 48 hours, except for Irish residents and Irish-bound passengers stranded while transiting through British airports.

See Also

Netherlands: Banned flights from Britain at least until the new year.
Spain: Flights from the UK suspended indefinitely from Tuesday, with those carrying Spanish citizens and residents excluded. Border controls with Gibraltar, the British colony on its southwestern coast, will also tighten.
Switzerland: Stopped foreign nationals arriving from the UK (and South Africa) and mandated quarantine for people arriving since 14 December.

Italy: grounded flights from and to Britain until 6 January, while barring entry for anyone who has been in Britain in the last fortnight.
Russia: will suspend air traffic with the UK for one week from Tuesday.
Austria: no passenger flights allowed to land from Britain until the new year.
Denmark: suspended incoming British flights until 9am Wednesday.
Sweden: suspended all incoming travel from Britain and Denmark until further notice.
Norway: banned incoming flights from Britain starting Monday for 48 hours.
Croatia: slights from the UK cancelled for two days from Sunday night.
Bulgaria: banned all flights to and from Britain until 31 January.
Malta: stopped flights both ways without an end date.
Finland: suspended flights with Britain, with the national carrier Finnair ceasing all UK flights for two weeks.
Poland, Portugal, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, North Macedonia: stopping flights from Britain indefinitely.