Now Reading
Tilda Swinton & John Akomfrah amongst Jarman Award Patrons

Tilda Swinton & John Akomfrah amongst Jarman Award Patrons

Film London announce eight new Patrons of the Film London Jarman Award, ahead of the 2020 virtual Award Winner announcement on 24 November. Spanning actors, artists, screenwriters and musicians, the Patrons’ work and support will be vital in the development and success of the Award.

John Akomfrah. Courtesy of Smoking Dogs Films and Lisson Gallery. Photo by Jack Hems

There are so few initiatives that recognise and celebrate artists’ film which isn’t the run of the mill. Because the Jarman Award stands for that – this protean, productive space in which different kinds of people come together and say ‘we want to find another way of doing things’ – just for that symbolic thing alone, it’s important.

– John Akomfrah, artist filmmaker and Jarman Award shortlist 2014


Jarman was an antagonist, certainly a poet, maybe a prophet. We keep faith with his inclusive and vibrant spirit by naming a film award in his name, a talisman of practical magic, of inspiration, for artists working with cinema to do things that only cinema can do, with their hearts and eyes and hands – and in company with that spirit.

See Also

– Tilda Swinton, actor and Derek Jarman collaborator

The Film London Jarman Award Patrons are:
John Akomfrah, Terence Davies, Rupert Everett, Dexter Fletcher, Hetain Patel, Tony Peake, Tilda Swinton and Toyah Willcox.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply