Literature Theatre

Almeida Theatre announces Channel 4 Playwrights Bursary Winner Dipo Baruwa-Etti

The 2018/19 Almeida Youth Advisory Board member Dipo Baruwa-Etti has been awarded a Channel 4 Playwrights Bursary worth £10,000. He will be on attachment to the Almeida for twelve months and will write at least one full-length play during the next year.

He is one of six winners this year – the other five include Almeida Genesis playwright Ross Willis, as well as Tuyen Do, Yasmin Joseph, Lulu Raczka and Ruby Thomas.

The winners were chosen by a panel chaired by Richard Eyre and including Rosie Alison from Heyday Films, Sonia Friedman Productions’ literary associate Jack Bradley, The Bridge Theatre’s Will Mortimer, Film4’s senior commissioning executive Julia Oh, Dinah Wood from Faber & Faber and playwright Nicholas Wright.

Dipo’s debut play will premiere at the Yard Theatre in 2020.

%d bloggers like this: