Now Reading
BAFTA: Mahershala Ali wins supporting Actor / No Director win for Spike Lee

BAFTA: Mahershala Ali wins supporting Actor / No Director win for Spike Lee

EE British Academy Film Awards winner have been announced at the ceremony hosted by Joanna Lumley at the Royal Albert Hall, London, today Sunday 10 February 2019. (Image credit: Spike Lee and Cynthia Erivo BAFTA Johnny Birch)
  • Seven BAFTAs for The Favourite: Outstanding British Film, Leading Actress, Supporting Actress, Original Screenplay, Costume Design, Production Design, Make Up & Hair
  • Four BAFTAs for Roma: Best Film, Director, Film Not in the English Language and Cinematography
  • Rami Malek wins Leading Actor for Bohemian Rhapsody
  • Mahershala Ali wins Supporting Actor for Green Book
  • Letitia Wright wins the EE Rising Star Award

At tonight’s EE British Academy Film Awards, The Favourite was named Outstanding British Film, with Olivia Colman receiving the BAFTA for Leading ActressRachel Weisz taking Supporting Actress and Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara winning Original ScreenplaySandy Powell won Costume Design,Fiona Crombie and Alice Felton won Production Design and Nadia Stacey won Make Up & Hair.

Roma won four awards: Best Film, Director, Cinematography and Film Not in the English LanguageAlfonso Cuarón won in each of these categories.

Rami Malik won Leading Actor for his performance as Freddie Mercury in Bohemian Rhapsody; the film also won the award for Sound.

Supporting Actor went to Mahershala Ali for his performance in Green Book.

BlacKkKlansman won Adapted ScreenplaySpider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse took the award for Animated Film, and Documentary was won by Free Solo.

A Star Is Born won Original Music and Vice took the BAFTA for EditingBlack Panther received the BAFTA for Special Visual Effects.

Writer/Director Michael Pearce and Producer Lauren Dark received the award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer for Beast.

73 Cows won the British Short Film award, while the BAFTA for British Short Animation was won by Roughhouse.

The Special Award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema was presented to Elizabeth Karlsen and Stephen Woolley, a producing partnership who have created some of the most iconic British films of recent years, including The Crying Game, Company of Wolves, Little Voice, Scandal, Carol and Colette.

See Also

The Fellowship, the highest honour the Academy can bestow, was presented to editor Thelma Schoonmaker by HRH The Duke of Cambridge, President of BAFTA, and Cate Blanchett.

The EE Rising Star Award, voted for by the public, went to Letitia Wright.

The ceremony, which was hosted by Joanna Lumley, was held at London’s Royal Albert Hall and featured performances by Cirque du Soleil and Jess Gillam.

As part of BAFTA’s year-round programme of learning events and initiatives, over 80 of this year’s nominees took part in more than 14 ‘BAFTA Film: The Sessions’ on Saturday 9 February. The Sessions saw the nominees discuss their craft in interviews that will be available online on BAFTA Guru in the coming days.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply